The Bahamas

The Bahamas, officially the Commonwealth of The Bahamas, is an independent, English-speaking country consisting of 2,387 rocks, 661 cays and 29 islands. It is located in the Atlantic Ocean southeast of the United States; northeast to east of Cuba, Hispaniola (Dominican Republic & Haiti) and north to east of the Caribbean Sea; and west to northwest of the Turks and Caicos Islands. Its size is almost 14,000 km2 with an estimated population of 330,000. Its capital is Nassau. It remains a Commonwealth realm.

The Bahamian dollar is pegged to the US dollar and US$ notes and coins are used interchangeably with Bahamian currency for most practical purposes. However, government exchange controls still apply for the purchase of foreign currency.

The Bahamas is classified as an upper middle-income developing country and has the third highest per capita income in the western hemisphere (after the United States and Canada). Tourism is the primary economic activity, accounting for about two thirds of the gross domestic product (GDP). Offshore finance is the second largest industry, accounting for about 15 per cent of GDP.

Links that may be of interests:

Explore The Islands of the Bahamas
The Government of The Bahamas
Bahamas Chamber of Commerce
Bahamas International Securities Exchange
Bahamas Financial Services Board
Bahamas Laws On-Lin
The Central Bank of The Bahamas
Securities Commission of The Bahamas

© Copyright 2013 Oracle Business Partners -. Made by iconicwebcreations